Pages Navigation Menu

international TV-content distribution, specialized in art and music programming

Parsifal at Teatro Real, Madrid 2016

Music and libretto by Richard Wagner, based on the medieval epic poem Parzival by Wolfram von Eschenbach.

The première of Parsifal in major opera houses was not until 1914, after the Bayreuth Festival had maintained the exclusivity of the opera since its opening in 1882. It was a huge success, in part because the opera score was to become one of the most momumental and inspiring scores in music history. As well, its turbulent theme was associated with the Great War and post-war era.
Parsifal arrives after years of wanderings through the wilderness to save the Temple of the Grail, encapsulating the emotional climate in Europe at the time, a period of great sacrifice and hardship, collective disorientation and the desperate search for a leader.

Parsifal, the innocent, compassionate “guileless fool”, embodies the spirit of redemption.
This is the starting point for the staging by German director Claus Guth.

The action takes place in a dilapidated hospital for war-wounded soldiers. Inspired by the sanatorium in The Magic Mountain by Thomas Mann, it embodies the trauma and despair following World War I, when hopes for a new leader led to disaster.

Genre: Sacred stage festival in three acts
Director : Richard Wagner
Conductor : 260′
Format: HD

Watch now

La Traviata at Teatro Real, Madrid 2015

Libretto by Francesco Maria Piave, based on the novel and theatre play La dame aux camélias (1848 and 1852) by Alexandre Dumas fils

After its initial rejection, Verdi’s unique opera whose action unfolds in a contemporary setting, La Traviata became one of the most acclaimed works of the composer. This came about because of the universal values that are brought to light following the tragedy of a high-society courtesan who renounces even life itself to protect the honour of her lover, demonstrating a grandeur lacking in the hypocritical bourgeois society that abused and then rejected her.

The story brought Verdi legendary status through music with a profound sense of humanity and psychological portrayal of the characters and their feelings.
Stage conductor David McVicar, uses his usual elegance to set the drama in a world of romantic references while retaining an up-to-date perspective.

Genre: Opera in three acts
Conductor : Guiseppe Verdi
Duration: 132′
Format: HD

Watch now

IOLANTA -PERSEPHONE at Teatro Real, Madrid 2012

Music by Piotr Ilich Chaikovski (1840-1893)
Libretto by Modest Chaikovski, based on King René’s Daughter by Henrik Hertz.

An extraordinary double programme with two works which “represent an ideal of beauty, poetry and hope”. Iolanta and Perséphone tell stories of transformation; two dramas laden with symbolism which take a path from light to darkness and back again, where there is always a shadow of one’s self behind each person. Peter Sellars tells the story using a single setting with very intense, abstract visual images where everything changes, as in Russian symbolist drama.

Genre: Lyrical opera in one act
Conductor : Piotr Ilich Chaikovski
Duration: 164′
Format: HD
Languages : Russian

Watch now

Il Pirata at Teatro Real, Madrid 2019

Music by Vincenzo Bellini (1801-1835)
Libretto by Felice Romani, based on the work Bertram, Ou le Pirate (1822) by Justin Séverin Taylor, translated to French by Charles Maturin

It is the story of a young man daring, rebelling against oppression and injustice, but condemned to suffer an amorous misadventure; his beloved, married by obligation to his enemy, with whom she also has a child. The enemy in question, the embodiment of the most despotic power.

Conductor Bellini deliberately looked for an innovative style of composition and made a special effort to obtain an intimate correspondence between the music and the text. The Pirate will be the trampoline from which Bellini would achieve international success and become Maestro de Bel Canto.

Genre: Opera Melodramma in two acts
Conductor : Vincenzo Bellini
Duration: 158′
Format: HD

Watch now

Dead Man Walking at Teatro Real, Madrid 2018

Music by Jake Heggie
Libretto by Terrence McNally
Based on the novel by Sister Helen Prejean

On January 26, 2018, the Teatro Real presented the Spanish premiere of Dead Man Walking, the first opera by composer Jake Heggie, based on a non-fiction book of the same name by Sister Helen Prejean. Dead Man Walking – slang in American prisons for a prisoner on death row as he walks from his cell to the electric chair – is a reflection on the death penalty, and at the same time, a study in the redemptive power of love.

At the Teatro Real, mezzo-soprano Joyce DiDonato gave life to Sister Helen Prejean, protagonist of the drama, while the musical direction was in the hands of Mark Wigglesworth, and the stage direction, by Leonardo Foglia.

Genre: Opera in two acts
Conductor : Jake Heggie
Duration: 151′
Format: HD

Watch now

COSÌ FAN TUTTE at Teatro Real, Madrid 2013

Music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Libretto by Lorenzo Da Ponte

The flexibility and mobility of the staging created by the Austrian film director contrasts with the frosty atmosphere to emphasize the humanity of the characters that progress from naïve feelings to a whirlwind of situations which put their emotions to the test.

Love can seriously damage the health of these two pairs of lovers, who are manipulated by the Machiavellian Don Alfonso and Despina –an odd couple working together to break up the relationships.

The new staging concept delivers the recitative passages in a new way, giving the scenes more intensity and reaching a different and more ambiguous denouement in this new reading of the story. Simply magnificent and certainly cutting-edge!

Genre: Dramma giocoso in two acts
Conductor : Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Duration: 201′
Format: HD

Watch now